Thursday, March 01, 2007

L.A. Poker Classic Day 6: The Final 6

By Pauly

There are six players remaining at the L.A. Poker Classic and JC Tran still holds the chip lead, although it's by a slim margin. Daddy's favorite player Chau Giang squeaked into the final table and he joins WSOP runner-up Paul Wasicka, Jacobo Fernandez, Eric Hershler, and David Bach. The final TV table is set to go off at 5pm local time at Commerce Casino, and by the end of Day 6, a champion will be crowned and someone will walk away $2.4 million richer.
Final Table chip counts:
1. JC Tran $3.47M
2. Paul Wasicka $3.39M
3. Jacobo Fernandez $3.37M
4. David Bach $2.27M
5. Eric Hershler $2.16M
6. Chau Giang $1.37M

Final Table payouts:
1st Place: $2,429,970
2nd Place: $1,177,010
3rd Place: $607,490
4th Place: $455,615
5th Place: $341,710
6th Place: $257,425
Revenge on Tran's mind? Perhaps. JC Tran has his eye on the big cash after he squandered the chiplead at the final table last year. He eventually busted out in 5th place after he took a wicked bad beat from Alan Goehring. Tran had A-A and flopped a flush draw against Goehring's 5-5. Gohering was down to just one out, which he promptly spiked on the river. In 2004, Tran bubbled off the final TV table. So in the last four years at the LA Poker Classic, Tran has made two TV tables and was the bubble boy in a third. Tran also made the final table at the WPT Tunica in January and is at his third overall WPT final table.

I wrote a Recap of Day 5 which has been posted over at Poker News. You can also read my previous recaps:
Day 1 Recap
Day 2 Recap
Day 3 Recap
Day 4 Recap
Head over to Poker News for our Live Reporting updates of the final table of the L.A. Poker Classic at Commerce Casino.

There's are also plenty of photos courtesy of Amy Calistri in the LAPC Photo Gallery.

Don't forget to check out Poker News' video galleries such as the Day 4 Recap and an interview with Vinny Procopio.

Schecky and Mike Gracz agree that each other is indeed... the man.
Money winners on Day 5 included:
7 Bill Edler $189,840
8 Vincent Procopio $151,870
9 Benjamin Johnson $121,500
10 Jay Chang $91,125
11 Tad Jurgens $91,125
12 Jason Strasser $91,125
13 Chris Bell $72,140
14 Joseph Cordi $72,140
15 Juan Alvarado $72,140
16 Kristy Gazes $58,470
17 Shan Jing $58,470
18 Richard Munro $58,470
The final table resumes at 5pm local time, so don't forget to stop by Poker News and check out the Live Reporting of the LA Poker Classic.

Original content written and provided by Pauly from Tao of Poker. All rights reserved.

No comments:

Post a Comment