Thursday, September 24, 2009

2009 Poker Hall of Fame Voting

By Pauly
Los Angeles, CA

I'm fortunate and deeply honored that I'm one of the thirty people (15 living members of the Hall of Fame and 15 member media panel) that get a vote for this year's Hall of Fame.

Here's the criteria...
-- Among finalists, who is most deserving to be elected this year
-- A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
-- Played for high stakes
-- Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
-- Stood the test of time
-- Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

Members of the Poker Hall of Fame:
1979: Nick 'The Greek' Dandolos; 'Wild Bill Hickok'; Edmond Hoyle; Felton 'Corky' McCorquodale; Johnny Moss; Red Winn; Sid Wyman
1980: T 'Blondie' Forbes
1981: Bill Boyd
1982: Tom Abdo
1983: Joe Bernstein
1984: Murph Harrold
1985: Red Hodges
1986: Henry Green
1987: Walter Clyde 'Puggy' Pearson
1988: Doyle Brunson; Jack 'Treetop' Strauss
1989: Fed 'Sarge' Ferris
1990: Benny Binion
1991: David 'Chip' Reese
1992: 'Amarillo Slim' Preston
1993: Jack Keller
1996: Julius Oral 'Little Man' Popwell
1997: Roger Moore
2001: Stu 'The Kid' Ungar
2002: Lyle Berman; Johnny Chan
2003: Bobby Baldwin
2004: Berry Johnston
2005: Crandall Addington; Jack Binion
2006: Billy Baxter; T.J. Cloutier
2007: Barbara Enright; Phil Hellmuth
2008: Henry Orenstein; Duane 'Dewey' Tomko
2009: ? ? ?

I can vote for no more than three nominees. I can also vote for none. My vote is due on October 2nd, so I have a solid week or so to think about this.

I'm wondering what the readers here think and want your feedback. I know who I shouldn't vote for, but who should I vote for and why?

Original content written and provided by Pauly from Tao of Poker at All rights reserved. RSS feeds are for non-commercial use only.

No comments:

Post a Comment